Likens Award

The James D Likens Award

Each year the prestigious James D. Likens, WCMS Alumni Recognition Award is given to honor WCMS alumni who have had significant achievement in the credit union field after graduation from the Western CUNA Management School.

Qualifying criteria for this distinguished award includes:

  • Significant professional growth in the individual's credit union career since graduation
  • Significant service to the credit union community after graduation

Bob Toohey 0022022 Recipient: Bob Toohey

Bob Toohey has a long history of serving credit unions and Western CUNA Management School.

Bob is a U.S. Naval Air veteran and had a 36-year career with Southern California Edison, retiring as their IT/Communications Division Safety Manager. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in adult education from Southern Illinois University and graduate certificates in health and safety management from the University of Southern California’s Graduate Program.

Bob served the SCE Federal Credit Union as a volunteer for over 40 years, during which time he held executive officer positions on the Board of Directors and served as chairman of the Supervisory Committee. In 1970, as Chairman of the Board, he was directly responsible for expanding the field of membership of Local 47 IBEW FCU enabling all employees of the Southern California Edison Company to participate in the Credit Union – the basis for today’s SCE Federal Credit Union. His participation as a volunteer was influential in the Credit Union’s growth from under $500,000 dollars in assets to nearly one billion dollars today. As Chairman of the SCE FCU Supervisory Committee he developed and over-saw the Credit Union’s internal audit program, security and risk-management areas.

While his main focus remained with the SCE Federal Credit Union, Bob also assisted the California Credit Union League and several other credit unions over the years accepting positions on boards, committees, supervisory committees and/or consulting when asked to do so. In 2016, he was invited to join the supervisory committee of The Credit Union of Southern California.

He has been recognized locally as well as nationally within the credit union movement as a leader. His awards and honors include the California Credit Union League’s prestigious Volunteer of the Year Award, CUNA’s Filene Award for Volunteer Achievement, CCUL’s 20-year Chapter Officer Award, and a nomination for the Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bob is a 1975 graduate of CUNA District 4 School for Credit Union Professionals, Claremont Colleges (now WCMS), one of a very few credit union volunteers to do so, he has made a point to be at the School each year to assist new and returning students on opening weekend. In 1980 he led the formation of the WCMS Alumni Association and went on to serve on its Board for the next 16 years, including 13 years as President, stepping down in 1996 following his retirement from Southern California Edison. His time away, however, would be short-lived and on July 24, 1997, he was presented the title of Chairman Emeritus in recognition of over twenty years of service to WCMS, the development and leadership of the WCMS Alumni Association, and for his continued dedication to Western CUNA Management School and its alumni.

Bob and his wife, Mickey, raised three children – two daughters and a son. They have seven grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s recipient of the James D. Likens Alumni Recognition Award, Mr. Bob Toohey. Bob was immensely pleased and honored to be joined on stage by his long-time friend, Dr. James Likens himself, when he was presented with this award during the 2022 WCMS graduation ceremony.

Past Recipients

Kent Oram, 2021
Shirley Cate, 2019
Teri Robinson, 2018
Shruti Miyashiro, California, 2017
Patsy Van Ouwerkerk, California, 2016
Mark Meyer, Wisconsin, 2015
Jon Hernandez, California, 2014
Chris Jillson, New Mexico, 2013
Annette Zimmerman, Texas, 2012
Susan Steifel, Washington, 2011
RaAnn Wood, California, 2010
Brett Martinez, California, 2009
Ken Facer, Texas-formerly of California, 2008
Ava Milosovich, Oregon, 2007
John Janclaes, California, 2006

David W. Brehmer, North Carolina, 2005
Shon Wellborn, California 2004
JoAnne LeCouvre Kersey, Oregon, 2003
John Annaloro, Washington, 2002
Diana Dykstra, California, 2001
Terry Parkyn, California, 2000
Marsha Burgess, Nevada, 1999
Winifred Corey, California, 1998
William G. Ferrence, Nevada, 1997
James M. Sasahara, California, 1996
Rick Craig, Utah, 1995
Beverly Dawson, California, 1994
Bernie Ray, Arizona, 1993
David E. Maus, Colorado, 1992
Richard M. Johnson, California, 1991


Nominations are now being accepted for the James D. Likens Alumni Recognition Award. This award is presented to the recipient during school each July as part of the graduation ceremony.


Nominees must have graduated from the Western CUNA Management School, or any other name by which it has been previously known, a minimum of five years before the date of presentation of the award on Graduation Night. Members of the WCMS Alumni Association Board, the Western CUNA Management School Board of Trustees and current members of the Selection Committee for this award, are not eligible.

For more information and nomination forms contact: